Make your own free website on
Fayette County Speedway     |     home
May 3   |   May 10   |   May 24   |   June 7   |   June 14   |   June 21   |   June 28   |   July 13

June 7
Fayette County Speedway
West Union, IA
Friday June 7
By Tom Tracker

     A record grandstand crowd watched Late Model driver Dale Stolte of Springville win his second Late Model Feature in a row.  Dale was followed by Darren Ackerman of Waterloo who is second in the points standings, and Dale Hackwell, Jr. of Washburn.  Track Promoter Tim Anderson was quoted as saying, “I am very pleased with the Late Model car counts building into the high teens for a weekly show.  They are here to stay.”
     The Modified class came down to the wire as the co-leader in points battled to a 1-2 finish with Todd Ihde of Decorah picking up the checkered flag.  Darin Duffy from Hazelton and Randy Geisler of St. Charles rounded out the top 3.
     Decorah native Toby Einck took first place in the Stock Car division over points leader Tom Schmitt of Independence, and Mike Krambeer of Postville.
     Local track favorite Jason Rohde picked up the feature win in the Hobby Stock class with Aaron Kleppe from Cedar Rapids taking second.  Kevin Donlon from Decorah rounded out the top 3.
     Emory Fretheim of Decorah placed in the top 4 in two classes.  He drove in both the Stock Car and the Thunder Truck classes, placing 4th and 2nd respectively.  Emory was quoted as saying that “Fayette County Speedway is one of his favorite Friday night tracks.”  Many are glad to see Emory back on the track competing.
     The Thunder Truck special was won by Jeff Krambeer of Postville, with the veteran Emory Fretheim of Decorah finishing second.  Jess Schroeder from Ft. Atkinson took third.
     Jeff Johnson of Alpha picked up some valuable points by finishing first in the Pure Stock class, while Brian Radloff of Monona and Jim Broszeit of Postville battled for 2nd and 3rd.
     The Hornet division continued to tune up for the Coors Lite Hornet 20 and the $1000 to win Nationals as Steve Dwyer from LaCrosse was followed closely by Russell Einck of Calmar and Terry Kolsrud from Waukon.
     In their last tune up for their final appearance at Fayette Co. Speedway, the 2 Man Cruiser division was surprised by having to drive in the opposite direction for the feature.  Many in the crowd were heard saying that it provided for a fun race to watch.  Jeff Bonefas and Duane Duffy of Independence claimed the 1st place trophy, while Rod Necker and Troy Mahlis came in 2nd, and Travis Flack and Jason Clinton rounded out the top 3.
     Friday June 14th is a tribute to The Kidsake Adoption Project.  Please come out and show your support for a great program that benefits many children.